Mac Matchmaster Foundation Review

Mac’s Product Description:

New Foundation technology using translucent pigments to enable a fully personalized finish influenced by the subtleties of your own skin’s undertone. Moisturizing demi-matte finish. Medium buildable coverage. Line-reducing soft-focus powders.

My Opinion:

I’m loving this foundation! As someone with a neutral undertone, I’ve always had a difficult time finding a color match, especially with Mac’s NW/NC coloring system (NW is a bit too pink and NC way too yellow). Mac’s Matchmaster foundation truly takes the guesswork out of finding the perfect foundation shade, as it blends and adjusts to your natural undertone. Wearing this foundation, I have virtually NO foundation line. I wear Matchmaster in the color 1.5 (typically I’m an NW20), although I’m sure I could wear 2.0, as this foundation blends and adjusts seamlessly into the skin.

Matchmaster has a demi-matte finish that is great for those with normal to oily skin. The finish isn’t overly matte or drying, but perfect for those that don’t want a glowing or ‘dewy’ finish. I would consider the coverage of this foundation to be light to medium buildable coverage. If you’re looking for a bit of extra coverage, I’d recommend pairing this with a good concealer, particularly for the under eye area. Because this foundation isn’t full coverage, you’ll definitely need to partner it with a good concealer for your ‘problem’ areas.

As for longevity, I wouldn’t consider this a long wear formula (which it doesn’t claim to be), but it definitely holds up for a good 8-10 hours. As someone with normal to oily skin, I didn’t find myself needing to blot or powder as frequently as I usually do with this foundation, which makes me think there may be something oil-controlling about the formula. As for the ‘soft focus powders’, I can’t say anything about that because I don’t have many fine lines or wrinkles.

At $32.50, the price is a bit steep, but Mac has thrown in an extra 5 ML (or 0.2 fl oz). Even though $32.50 is a lot of money to spend on a Mac foundation, I do believe it is worth the money for the great color match!

For swatches and a color matching guide, visit Karla Sugar here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Foundation, Review

Leave a Comment

