Review: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation

This summer I’ve been testing out Chanel’s new Vitalumiere Aqua foundation. Having never been a fan of Chanel foundations, I was a bit apprehensive to try this product, but I have to say I’ve been pleasantly surprised!

Vitalumiere Aqua is a lightweight, creamy foundation with a natural finish. It’s great for summer because it feels incredibly light and fresh on the face – almost like you’re not wearing makeup at all. It has SPF 15 and offers light to medium coverage with a natural finish. In my experience this foundation has about a 6-8 hour staying power, however if you have normal to dry or very dry skin I’m sure it would last a bit longer. I found myself needing to blot mid-day, but the product remained mostly intact for a majority of the day.

If you have very oily skin,  I probably wouldn’t recommend this foundation. I don’t think it would provide enough coverage, lasting power, or the right finish for oily skin. If you’re looking for a similar product with better qualities for oily skin (more coverage, matte finish,  better lasing power, etc.) I would recommend Shiseido’s Sun Protection Liquid Foundation with SPF 42. Its just as lightweight as the Vitaluimiere Aqua, but provides better coverage, a matte finish and SFF 42 for better protection against harmful UVA/UVB rays.

Vitalumiere Aqua is a little pricey at $45, but if you’re not weary of spending a lot of money on foundations I’d definitely suggest it. All in all I think it’s a great foundation and I would highly recommend it for those with a normal skin type.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Review: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation

  1. Hi Ashley,
    I love all your videos. They are always so well done with excellent lighting, and very helpful as I am not a makeup guru. Could you please do a video explaining how the warm-neutral-cool foundation system works? For example, if a foundation is classified by the manufacturer as “warm” does this mean the foundation colour is warm, or does it mean that the foundation is be used on skin that is warm? And what do warm and cool really mean in terms of colour? Thank you, Ashley.

    Pam.
    Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.

Leave a Comment

