Mattifying, Oil Control Products I’ve Recently Purchased

In the past few weeks I’ve picked up a few new skin mattifying/oil control products from the drug store, so I wanted to share with you some information on the products, along with the results I’ve experienced so far. As a person with oily skin, I often have issues with my face looking shinny or greasy by mid day. My oily skin also makes it difficult for my makeup to last throughout the day.

Here are the items I picked up:

Neutrogena Long Last Shine Control Cleanser/Mask

Designed to combat oil and shine, this daily cleanser doubles as deep cleansing mask. The product contains rice protein, which supposedly absorbs pore clogging oil. What I’m enjoying most about this cleanser so far is the super fine exfoliating grains. Unlike traditional exfoliating cleansers that contain large harsh beads, the beads in this cleanser are very finely milled, and almost resemble the consistency of sand. I feel the exfoliating particles in this foundation are much more gentle on the skin compared to other cleansers I’ve used. While I haven’t been using this long, so far I’m loving it! I can’t wait to try this as a mask.

Clean & Clear Finishes Mattifying Moisturizer 

This light daily moisturizer contains SPF 15 and an oil-absorbing mineral complex that is designed to keep skin looking matte and oil free all day. I’m a big fan of Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel and will probably never stop using it, however I’d been looking to try a mattifying moisturizer for a while. Typically, its difficult to find such a product at the drug store, so when caught word of this I knew I needed to get my hands on it! I ordered from Walmart.com for $6, and with $1 shipping it was on my doorstep in two days (gotta love the internet)! I’ve only used this one day so far, but I can definitely tell it leaves my skin with a matte finish. I wear liquid foundation every day, so I’m not sure how much this is helping with oil control, but if you are an oily skinned, no foundation type of gal (or guy) I think this moisturizer could be your new best friend.

Boots No 7 Mattifying Makeup Base

This is a mattifying primer designed to absorb oil and keep skin shine-free throughout the day. You can pick this up from Target for about $7. So far, I’m liking this product however it doesn’t have the slippery, silicone feel of many other facial primers I’ve used. This caught me a little off guard at first, but as long as the result is what I’m looking for (which it has been so far), I’m a fan!

Today I used all three of these products as an experiment, and after 12 hours of foundation wear, I have to say I was oil free! If you have oily skin, I’d definitely recommend checking these out!

4 Comments

Filed under Skincare

4 responses to “Mattifying, Oil Control Products I’ve Recently Purchased

  1. Annie

    Thanks for posting this! I have super oily skin too, and I’m constantly on the lookout for basic products, like the ones you’ve mentioned that help control oil and are affordable. I’ve found some high end products that help, but I always love having a lower budget option.
    Once I’m out of my current skin care, I’m definitely going to try these!

    Thanks!!!
    -Annie

  2. lederhosensebastian

    Heya, I watch your videos on youtube and I am glad that you have a wordpress blog! I use the No7 primer too and I think it’s a great mattifying primer, but perhaps I have an oilier t-zone than you as I do have to blot the slight shine away 4-5 hours after application :/ Have you heard of Kryolan Anti shine loose powder? It’s apparently great for combating shine as MUA use it in the theatre/film/tv industry 🙂

  3. veronica

    I have oilly skin. I need help finding a mattifing foundation. anny suggestions?

  4. Pingback: Skin Mattifying Products « makeuppeople.com

Leave a Comment

