Tarte 8th World of Wonder Best of the Amazon 7 Piece Clay Collection

The Tarte Amazonian Clay 8th Wonder of the World Kit was recently featured on QVC as one of their “Today’s Special Values” for $48.00. I was lucky enough to receive notification from Tarte’s online newsletter (yes, I read them) about the collection and pre-ordered on QVC for the special value price.

This kit is absolutely AMAZING! All of the products are full size and amazing quality. I was most excited to try the kit for the new Tarte Amazonian Clay Balancing Foundation (currently only available in this kit) and Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Wear Powder Blush in Glisten (a color exclusive to this kit). The kit also comes with a refillable eye shadow quad, Amazonian Clay eye liner in a pretty deep purple shade, Lights Camera Lashes mascara (one of my all time favs), Pureoptic Moisturizing Lip Gloss, purple braided cosmetic pouch and large synthetic buffer brush.

The new Tarte Amazonian Clay Balancing Foundation is a medium-full coverage and reminds me of a their popular Smooth Operator foundation in consistency. The foundation is very creamy and thick and applies seamlessly to the skin. What I like most about this foundation is that even though it provides more coverage than the Smooth Operator, it doesn’t look cakey or unnatural on the face. As a fan of more medium-full coverage foundations, I’ll most likely be reaching for the Balancing Foundation during the work week when I need a little extra coverage, and stick with the Smooth Operator on the weekends. I tried applying this foundation with the large synthetic buffer brush that came in the kit, but found it was almost too dense for my liking – buffing away too much product to make for less coverage. I do love the buffer brush, but think I’ll reserve it for my pressed powder and mineral foundations.

 

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Glisten. (Image courtesy of Makeup and Beauty Blog)

I’ve also been loving the Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Wear Powder Blush in Glisten. I had been eyeing these blushes for a while (being the blush addict that I am), but never purchased due to the high price tag (normally they retail for $25.00 each). After giving this blush formulation a try, I have to say I may actually be picking up a few more of these at full price. Their high pigmentation and lasting power truly make them worth the price tag. Glisten is a golden peachy pink color very similar to NARS Orgasm. To my knowledge, this color is not currently available anywhere other than this kit.

Overall, I think this kit was an amazing value and contains more wonderful exclusive releases from Tarte Cosmetics. If you’re a fan of Tarte Cosmetics, but looking to save a little cash, I’d suggest subscribing to their e-mail newsletter and keeping up to date on their exclusive releases/kits on QVC.Β  I can’t wait to see if/when these products will be released to the general public, and what you all think of them!

4 Comments

Filed under Collections, Foundation

4 responses to “Tarte 8th World of Wonder Best of the Amazon 7 Piece Clay Collection

  1. I LOVE Tarte! They have been my favorite makeup brand since I discovered their products back in August! I love how all of their packaging is so cute, and this kit is no exception! You should make a youtube video for it (I actually discovered/subscribed to your channel & blog because I saw that you are also a Tarte fan and have some reviews on their products)…Anyway, thanks so much for sharing! I just subscribed to their mailing list (idk why I hadn’t thought of it before but I know I definitely would like to be informed of any major sales they have)! Thanks & I look forward to more of your reviews! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I do need to film a video that is a great idea! I discovered Tarte back in December and I’ve been in love with the brand ever since! I’m officially an addict! The products are great quality and its nice to know you’re not smearing animal bi-products all over your face!

  2. I’m so sad to have missed out on this kit! I have never shopped qvc and I just heard about this kit. All they have left is the deep color and I need medium. I heard they will be offering this kit in similar colors again (but without the brush?:( ). It looks like a great kit, glad you are enjoying it!

    • I’m pretty sure they will be offering it again this summer with some different colors. I’d suggest signing up for the Tart e-mail newsletter to stay updated on their QVC offerings. You can definitely find some great Tarte deals on QVC if you keep your eyes peeled!

Leave a Comment

