Mac Pro Longwear Foundation Review

Mac Pro Longwear Foundation

The Pro Longwear Foundation is the latest foundation innovation released by Mac Cosmetics. Designed for extended wear up to 15 hours, this foundation is $29.50 and part of Mac’s permanent collection (available now). Along with extended wear, the product is formulated for oil control, humid conditions to keep skin looking natural and flawless.

While the Pro Longwear Foundation is described as lightweight and creamy, I found the product to be thick and hard to blend. The finish of this foundation is natural- meaning not matte and not dewy. While I typically stray from natural finish foundations due to my oily skin, I surprisingly really enjoy the finish of this foundation. The formulation is extremely versatile. Set the foundation with a loose or pressed powder for a matte finish, or set with a finely milled HD powder for a more natural, dewy finish. Or, if you have dryer skin, don’t powder at all!

The Pros

  • 15 Hour Longevity that won’t sweat or slip off
  • Naturally radiant finish for youthful looking skin
  • Transfer resistant (unlike Mac Studio Fix Fluid)
  • Light-medium coverage
  • Packaging comes with a pump
  • SPF 10- Looks good in photographs

The Cons

  • Feels heavy if too much product is used
  • Feels sticky or tacky when first applied, or if not set with powder
  • Hard to blend, dries quickly
  • “Natural” finish gets fairly shiny by end of day, but nothing a blotting powder can’t fix

I bought this foundation in NW 20, the same color I wear in Mac Studio Fix Fluid. As you can see by the swatches below, the Pro Longwear Foundation is a bit darker and a bit more pink-toned than the Studio Fix Fluid. I’ve read many blogs that said NC tones also run a bit more peachy than colors in the Studio Fix Fluid line. See pictures below for swatches of both foundations in NW 20.

Mac Pro Longwear Foundation NW 20 vs. Mac Studio Fix Fluid NW 20 with flash

Mac Pro Longwear in NW 20 vs. Mac Studio Fix in NW 20 no flash

I think Mac needs to make a few more fair shades for individuals with very pale skin. Typically I wear light-medium foundations (about 3 or 4 shades from the lightest color), but in Mac foundations I am the fairest shade.

Overall, I really like this foundation as an everyday foundation. This foundation doesn’t offer a lot of coverage, so I may opt for something else for special occasions. I think the finish is really beautiful, and as a fan of long wearing foundations, the Pro Longwear is a great addition to my collection! For more information, or tips on this product watch my video review below!

9 Comments

Filed under Foundation, Review

9 responses to “Mac Pro Longwear Foundation Review

  1. Ally

    What is your favorite fuller coverage foundation that would be good for a wedding? It needs to have good coverage and be long wearing, and look good on camera. Would appreciate any suggestions!! Thanks!

    • I’ve used Revlon Colorstay at weddings before and I really like it. The foundation provides medium-full coverage depending on how you apply it, its transfer resistant, comes in two formulas (normal to dry and combination oily), and has a low SPF so should be fine for flash photography. Other than that I’ve heard good things about Face and Body by Mac, but that has little coverage. Perhaps try the new Mac Pro Longwear, or Estee Lauder Double Wear Light? Pro Longwear has good longevity and low SPF as well as the EL DW Light. Hope this helps a bit!

  2. Thanks for such detail Mac Pro Longwear Foundation review.

  3. Emilee

    Will the Prolongwear cover my redness and freckles well , i dont have heavy freckles but a fair bit , will it show pours and show your lines ?

  4. Pingback: What do you think of the MAC prolong wear foundation?

  5. Pingback: Review: MAC PRO LONGWEAR FOUNDATION (NEW) | sensitiveskinconditions.com

  6. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Comment

