I gave in to the hype: Make Up Forever HD Foundation

I admit it. I gave into the hype. Makeup Forever HD Foundation is one of those products that has huge hype surrounding it. When I first learned about the foundation I immediately dismissed the idea of purchasing it because I read that it was bad for oily skin types. And lets face it- the foundation costs $40.00!

Months later after having tried numerous foundations and becoming somewhat of a makeup “collector”, I’d grown accustomed to the idea of spending more money on a foundation.  Of course my urge to buy this foundation spawned first from mere curiosity and soon grew into complete obsession. I had already given in the the NARS Sheer Glow hype, and despite being disappointed with the Sheer Glow I thought I’d give in to the hype with MUFE HD as well. I read numerous glowing reviews, and watched dozens of YouTube videos hailing its complete perfection.

Finally, I took the plunge and purchased the foundation. Color matching was sort of a circus for me (as usual). The Sales Assistant at Sephora first matched me as color 120, which has a strong yellow undertone (so not me). I returned the next day and talked to a fabulous certified makeup artist working at the store. She suggested I try 118. 118 has a more beige undertone which suited my neutral skin tone much better.

The first night I wore the foundation I went out with some drinks with friends. The foundation applied extremely smoothly, was very lightweight and had sheer to medium coverage. I thought it did a great job minimizing pores and giving the face an air brushed finish. I especially loved the packaging and pump.  My positive experience with this foundation stopped there. After only a few hours I went to look in the mirror and my face looked completely bare. Where did my foundation go?!? I’m not the type to enjoy this kind of look– I put makeup on for a reason tonight.

I thought I’d give this foundation another try during a typical work day. I applied this foundation on top of a primer and set the foundation with loose powder. After about 4 hours I looked at my face in the mirror and noticed the same problem. . . where did my foundation go?!? While the finish of this foundation is very beautiful and it has nice packaging- I simply don’t think this product is worth $40, nor its worth keeping a product I know I will rarely use. Therefore, this baby is going back to Sephora!!

Have you ever tried Make Up Forever’s HD foundation? What was your experience with the product?

1 Comment

Filed under Foundation, Review

One response to “I gave in to the hype: Make Up Forever HD Foundation

  1. I loved this foundation! I subscribed to your YT channel because I found we had a lot of similiarities in skin type (combo/oily) and color (NW 20, light to medium beige , etc.) and this foundation performed well for my skin BUT only when I used it with the MUFE HD Powder. For me, the powder is more of a godsend than the actual foundation. I always set any foundation with the MUFE HD Powder.

    I will admit, I had to build the MUFE HD Foundation to acheive the heavier coverage I wanted, but once I set it with the powder, it had pretty decent staying power. Of course, it’s no MUFE Matte Velvet, but I think the HD foundation gives a completely natural finish.

    It was interesting reading your thoughts on this foundation. I really enjoy your YT videos too.

Leave a Comment

