Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation Review

I picked up Estee Lauder’s Double Wear Foundation a few weeks ago after reading rave reviews about it being an extremely long wearing foundation that controls oil very well. I also read that Double Wear is considered to be a higher end version of Revlon’s Colorstay Foundation. As a fan of the Colorstay, I decided to give Double Wear a try and I’m so glad I did.

Double Wear Product Claims:

  • 15 Hour staying power that looks flawless all day through heat, humidity and non-stop activity
  • Won’t change color, smudge or come off on clothes
  • Feels lightweight and comfortable

Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation retails for $34.00 at most department stores.

Long Wear

This product lived up to its 15 hour staying power claim! And yes, sadly I did actually test this out. The coverage began to dissipate a bit by hour 12 or so, but it was extremely slight and probably wouldn’t be noticeable to the average human. I love that Double Wear provides the ability to wear the makeup all day, without the worry of touching up or looking un-polished by the end of the day. While I love many other foundations I’ve tried, they simply can’t keep up with my life style! Why wear a product that will look like junk by 5pm? I’d rather have the ability to control when I want to remove my makeup, instead of it removing itself!

Along with living up to the 15-hour longevity claim, this product lived up to the transfer resistance claim. I had no problem with this foundation rubbing or smudging off on to clothes.

Feeling on Skin

If you aren’t used to using foundations with a thick consistency, Double Wear may intimidate you at first. The texture is very thick and creamy with medium-full coverage. This foundation does not feel incredibly lightweight on the skin, but when applied with a light hand you can rid yourself of that “mask like” effect. Personally, the thickness of this foundation didn’t bother me- I found it was similar to Revlon Colorstay and Mac Studio Fix Fluid. If the feeling of makeup on your skin bothers you, you may want to ease yourself into the Double Wear by mixing it in with a moisturizer or applying with a wet sponge to decrease the thickness. But remember- decreasing thickness also decreases coverage!

If you are looking for a long wearing, oil controlling foundation that feels more lightweight on the skin (and has less coverage), I’d suggest checking out the Estee Lauder Double Wear Light. I recently tried a sample of it and I really like it a lot as well.

Color Selection/Color Matching

Unlike many other foundations, Double Wear comes in three shade variations- cool, neutral and warm- in each intensity level. As someone with a neutral undertone I can definitely appreciate this! Most drugstore foundations end up looking too yellow or too pink on me because drug store brands rarely offer neutral tones. Even higher end brands like Mac do not offer neutral under toned shades in all of their foundations.  I found this foundation incredibly easy to color match. Just simply select your intensity level and undertone on the website and it generates a perfect match. To be safe I got matched at an Estee Lauder counter, and I came out with the same color recommended online, Fresco 2n2.

Some reviewers have remarked that all Estee Lauder foundations tend to run a bit peachy or pink. I didn’t notice this, but I lean more towards pink than warm so it wasn’t a problem for me. If you have a golden or warm undertone you may want to be cautious when color matching.

Packaging

The glass bottle of the Double Wear foundation doesn’t come with a pump, but a Mac pump fits perfectly! Mac pumps can be purchased online and at any Mac counter for $6.00. I’m not a huge fan of the glass bottle because I tend to drop things, but it is very thick glass so I think I’ll be okay!

Removing the Makeup

The Double Wear provides excellent longevity and durability, however it can be difficult to remove if your not using the correct products. I’d recommend using a cleansing oil, cold cream or balm to remove this product before washing your face. Or, I’d suggest washing the face twice- first to rid the skin of the foundation and second to clean the skin of any remaining bacteria and residue. I typically use my Clinique Cleansing Milk on a cotton ball to wipe off the foundation before following up with my gel cleaner. Its really important that you remove this makeup completely from the skin so it won’t clog your pores and make you break out !

Overall Opinion

This is an excellent foundation for someone that loves full coverage and needs it to last for over 8 hours.  The foundation is very resistant to heat, humidity and perspiration so it is perfect for a busy woman that needs her makeup to stay put! Its also great for special occasions such as weddings and graduations when you will need the makeup to look flawless for long periods of time.

I don’t wear this foundation on days when I’m just running errands or hanging around the house, but I think its great during the work week, or on days I know I will be gone from the house for a very long time. While this foundation is a bit pricey at $34.00 a bottle, I would definitely re-purchase because you need such a little bit, and you barely ever have to re apply.

If you have any other questions about this product, leave a comment below! Have you tried Estee Lauder’s Double Wear foundation? What is your all time favorite foundation?

13 Comments

Filed under Foundation, Review

13 responses to “Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation Review

  1. I want this foundation…can i really just go to e.l. and ask for free sample?

  2. LeOra

    I have to totally agree with you! I started using EL years ago and every once in awhile I try to find something comparable bc it is a little pricey (Esp. since I am one of those who won’t walk out of the house without makeup). However, I always end up coming right back to EL Double Wear…. No other foundation I have found will last as long with great coverage! Great Review!

  3. I have been using this for years after my friend who worked at EL got me onto it as her foundation always looked flawless. Oh and did you know EL owns Mac so maybe that’s why it is similar to Fix.
    xxx

  4. Pingback: Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Foundation | MsBeautyBitch

  5. Nancy

    THANK YOU so cery much for this info. I used Ultima II ultimate coverage for years and have been floundering since it has been discontinued. I tried M.A.C. in its many forms and never could get the right color or results. I am also a neutral under tone and I can not wait to see what this product can do for me ! Hopefully I will no longer have to put up with shiney, cakey, yellow-y unattractive makeup .

  6. Farrah Varela

    I love this foundation but the color match has been difficult. So far Sand is the closest. Tawney is a bit too dEm, orangey. I am an NC25 is MAC. Any suggestions?

  7. Nicole

    I like the coverage and the Rich Cocoa is a perfect match for me; however, it does rub off. I’ve noticed when I hug my fiance it is on his shirts.

  8. Danielle

    A tip the consultant gave me was using a foundation brush to apply it. I am using a sample of the double wear now and so far I seem to like it, but by using the brush, you don’t use very much and it doesn’t go on as thick.

  9. Sue

    I use double wear foundation but have found that if I drip some on my clothes when applying it, it is virtually impossible to remove the spot. I have tried dry cleaning, washing, scrubbing, applying Oxi and other pre-treatment products, but nothing will remove it. Do you have any suggestions?

  10. Steve

    I have read every review I can find on how to clean E-L’s Double Wear Foundation and found nothing that indicates the makeup can be cleaned from clothing. Recently my wife spilled about ½ capful of the product on a suit jacket made of 78% Polyester, 18% Rayon, and 4% Spandex. It sports a gray herringbone design. She tried to clean the stain with hot water, but only the surface material was removed. The stain was very pronounced.

    She likes the suit very much, so she asked me if I could do a little “magic” and remove the stain. The 1st thing I did was to go online and “Google” search for any information concerning the removal of this particular foundation. There was not much about the topic with the exception of this website.

    Most articles, blogs, and other communications I found indicated that it was a mistake to even try to remove the stain from any garment.
    I succeeded in removing the stain without damaging the garment. Below is what I did to remove a stain about 1” (2.54 cm) long by ¼” (0.63 cm) wide:
    1. I sprayed a liberal amount of liquid Oxi Clean Laundry Stain Remover over and adjacent to the stain.
    2. Using a toothbrush, I scrubbed the stain, and an area approximately 2” (5.1 cm) around the stain. I did this for about 15 seconds.
    3. Using the scoop that comes with Oxi Clean Versatile Stain Remover powder, I poured about a 1/4 scoopful of the powder over the stain.
    4. Using the same toothbrush, I scrubbed the mixture of the liquid and powder Oxy Clean into the stain. I did this for about 25 seconds.
    5. I sprayed a liberal amount of Shout Triple-Action Stain Remover over the stain.
    6. Using the same toothbrush, I scrubbed the mixture of the liquid/powder Oxy Clean mixture, and the Shout liquid into the stain. I did this for about 1 minute.
    7. I let the jacket sit for about 5 minutes.
    8. I rinsed the above solution off with running hot water over the solution area rubbing (scrubbing) the jacket material together (folded the solution covered area in half and rubbed the 2 halfs together; each half in separate hands). This took about 2 minutes.
    9. After the process of rubbing the solution area on the jacked under the hot running water, I rinsed the solution several times with hot water while ringing the wet area of the jacket. I did this for 7 times holding the solution covered area under the hot running water, then ringing that area out after each time for 7 times. I did not wring out the wet area too much because I was afraid that I might damage the fabric if I squeezed.
    10. I hung it on a rack at room temperature overnight, and in the morning –
    11. “It’s a miracle!” The stain was gone. I could not even find the actual location of the stain. I had to call my wife at work to ask where the stain was located. There was not any damage to the fabric at all. I cannot find the exact place where the stain existed.

    • Veronica Larkin

      Hi Steve Thanks for letting us know the process you went through to get Estee Lauder Double Wear from your partner’s jacket. I’m a big fan of double wear but when it stains your clothes it’s a tough job to get rid of it. Estee Lauder should have a responsibility to let their customers know that it’s an indelible product..I’m trying t o remove Double wear from a pair of trousers. I’ve used tooth brush Vanish and Aerial washing liquid we’re on the third wash. I’m frustrated. The stain is reduced but not erased
      Thanks
      Veronica

Leave a Comment

